Home Sports Who won the NASCAR race yesterday? Complete results from Talladega race

Who won the NASCAR race yesterday? Complete results from Talladega race

Who won the NASCAR race yesterday? Complete results from Talladega race

The winner of the spring Sprint Cup Series race at Talladega Superspeedway led just one lap Sunday — the one where they wave the checkered flag at the end.

Brad Keselowski drove to the lead on Lap 191 (of a scheduled 188) at the GEICO 500 and held off William Bryon for the victory.

MORE: Watch NASCAR racing live with fuboTV (7-day free trial)

In Keselowski’s mind, the victory was gift-wrapped for him when Matt DiBenedetto tried to protect his lead by moving to the high lane and left the bottom lane wide open.

“Merry Christmas!” Keselowski told Fox Sports as he described his thoughts when he saw clear track ahead of him.

Below is more about Keselowski’s win, plus the complete results of the Sunday afternoon race.

Who won the NASCAR race yesterday?

Brad Keselowski became the ninth different winner in 10 Cup Series races this season with the victory in the GEICO 500. He also captured his sixth win at Talladega, tying him with Dale Earnhardt Jr. and Jeff Gordon for second-most at the 2.66-mile superspeedway in Alabama. Dale Earnhardt won 10 times at the track.

“I would have never dreamed I’d tie Jeff Gordon and Dale Earnhardt Jr. here. That’s something. Those guys are really legends,” Keselowski said. “I’m just really proud of my team. We had an accident there early, and they recovered and got it fixed up to where I could keep running. My crew chief, Jeremy Bullins, had a lot of confidence.”

Keselowski’s car took damage during a frightening wreck at the end of Stage 1. Joey Logano’s car went upside down and slid along the track after contact with Denny Hamlin’s car.

NASCAR results from Talladega

Brad Keselowski earned his first win of the 2021 Cup Series season and the 35th win of his career Sunday. William Byron, Michael McDowell, Kevin Harvick and Matt DiBenedetto completed the top five.

McDowell had another strong run on a superspeedway after winning the Daytona 500 in February.

The Cup Series will be back on a 1.5-mile intermediate track next weekend when it goes to Kansas Speedway for the Buschy McBusch Race 400 (3 p.m. ET; FS1, TSN, MRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio). 

Material from the NASCAR Wire Service was used in this report.

Finish Driver
1 Brad Keselowski
2 William Byron
3 Michael McDowell
4 Kevin Harvick
5 Matt DiBenedetto
6 Kaz Grala
7 Tyler Reddick
8 Austin Dillon
9 Ryan Blaney
10 Cole Custer
11 Chase Briscoe
12 Anthony Alfredo
13 Ryan Newman
14 Ryan Preece
15 Aric Almirola
16 Ross Chastain
17 Christopher Bell
18 Kyle Busch
19 Bubba Wallace
20 Harrison Burton
21 Chris Buescher
22 Corey LaJoie
23 Daniel Suarez
24 Chase Elliott
25 BJ McLeod
26 JJ Yeley
27 Erik Jones
28 Cody Ware
29 Timmy Hill
30 Justin Haley
31 Martin Truex Jr.
32 Denny Hamlin
33 Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
34 Joey Gase
35 Kurt Busch
36 Josh Bilicki
37 Quin Houff
38 Alex Bowman
39 Joey Logano
40 Kyle Larson

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here